St. Pete Noise Fest 2013: Day Two

noise life

Every year since I’ve been in Saint Petersburg there’s been a Noise Fest. And every year I’d miss it either because of my work schedule, or by not hearing about it until it was finished. Not this year though! This year I heard about it early enough to plan ahead, contribute to its indiegogo campaign, and actually attend (most of) day two.

How could I not? It was two days worth of free (near) music, and the hosting Venture Compound gave everyone free earplugs! Thereby eliminating every reason you could conceivably think of not to attend.

DSC_0739

(I arrived home late from work on day one and was too tired to motivate myself after my after work work out. Apologies to all the great acts I missed who didn’t get a chance to be (poorly) immortalized by your’s truly. There’s always next year.)

Here are the photos I took of (most) of the acts. I’ll be linking to performance videoclips whenever I’m motivated enough to upload them all onto youtube. I’m also going to try to match up the photos with their names, but it’s going to be tough because there were a million acts and I failed to do any sort of time/name referencing. Two big thanks going out to Hal Harmon (Forever Escaping Boredom) and AODL‘s J. Shell for having pages up that clued me in to many of the acts’ identities.

That said, there’s still a few missing for the end of the night. So if you see an act you know, drop their name in the comments and I’ll get my notations corrected.

Again, a super big thanks to Hal Harmon for filling in the remaining names.

DSC_0684

DSC_0685

Triangle and Rhino.

DSC_0689

OTOLATHE from Tampa.

DSC_0691

DSC_0692

Hal McGee: easily the loudest act of the night. Just a unbelievably piercing high-pitched squeal; one that sent me running to the Compound’s gallery. (I had forgotten the earplugs. Hal McGee made me realize how foolish a mistake that was.)

DSC_0695

DSC_0696

734344_739150406102168_759180740_n

Sharlyn Evertsz

DSC_0698

DSC_0701

DSC_0700

DSC_0697

Arvo Zylo.

DSC_0694

DSC_0703

DSC_0705

DSC_0708

DSC_0709

DSC_0711

Clang Quartet who was amazingly both very upfront about his faith, yet surprisingly centered. When asked about the lack of subtlety in his performance, he replied with something along the lines of I don’t have enough time left to be anything but direct.

I know that’s a horrible paraphrase, as SPNF2013 was two or three weeks ago, and I’m usually not one for religious messages period, but in this case it worked. He had a message delivered as overtly as humanly possible, yet he still left room for the non-believers in the audience. Even if the message wasn’t for you, you could still what is was for him.

DSC_0712

B-O-U-R-G-E

DSC_0713

DSC_0714

Juice Machine might’ve had the greatest name in the festival.

DSC_0715

Thirteen Hurts.

DSC_0716

Andy Borsz (mem Slasher Risk) opened his set with a plea for the audience not to be as lame as the audiences back home in Jacksonville. A plea that gave validity to every lame thing I’ve ever heard about Jax.

DSC_0717

Newton.

DSC_0720

DSC_0719

DSC_0718

AODL.

DSC_0726

DSC_0725

Dromez served as a helpful reminder, when everyone around you is rapidly backing up, put down your camera and back up too fool!

DSC_0724

My pant leg was noticeably warmer after its spark shower.

DSC_0727

Glasgow Smile.

DSC_0731

DSC_0732

Jadis Mercado.

Qip

As the message above notes, the Noise Fest’s last act, the Uh…, were supposedly going to play their interpretation of John Cage’s 4’33.

DSC_0734

DSC_0735

DSC_0736

DSC_0737

3 Responses to “St. Pete Noise Fest 2013: Day Two”

  1. Just wanted to thank you for the kind words. Take care and God bless you.

Is ShenaniTims full of shit? Tell him now!

