The Horrid Stench of Freedom

One of the neatest parts of my recent trip home over the summer break was visiting the camp where I used to work. One child, who is a diabetic, could care less about me living on the other side of the world. Not one shred of interest. All the child wanted to do was talk shop.

Child: “Mr. Tim, did you bring your insulin!?!”

ShenaniTims: [Dejected, putting away a handful of Korean change] “Uh, no, but I can go grab it from the car I guess…”

While I found it to be hilarious, it did raise a couple of doubts for me. If I could be (if I was) such an influence on a young diabetic, then maybe I should’ve actually gone to one of those diabetic summer camps as a child. Maybe a lifetime of hatred directed at this disease could’ve been averted if I had had a more positive role model than just my mind.

This incident also made me wonder if my diabetes has always been the star, with me just playing a supporting role.

Is ShenaniTims full of shit? Tell him now!

