ShenaniTims Vs. Anki: Round 5

Another week, another 60-70 cards studied per day. Please ignore the Review Counts’ average of 110 cards/day. There’s hardly ever that many cards. The only explanation I can think of for it is that I usually do my cards in two sessions. The first is in the morning; I wake up and usually the first thing I do is work through the deck. That’s usually a 60-70 card session.

Later I may add new cards, which I guess technically counts as another session though mentally I don’t consider it as such. So working my way through the new cards (which, depending on how familiar I am with the new words, can take awhile) is probably what’s causing my daily average count to be so high. But I don’t count the new card overages because how else could I learn them except through repetition?

Neither “puppy” (강아지) nor “little” (새끼) are gonna learn themselves!

Another interesting insight gleamed from these data sheets is the upcoming influx of Mature cards. (Mature cards are cards whose repetition is spaced at least a month out.) Last week I saw my first Mature card show up, but now it looks as if I’ll be seeing at least some Mature cards every day from here on out! As you can see, I find this rather exciting, because I can’t think of a better gauge for knowing if you’ve learned a new term than to review it after it’s well out of recent memory. (I had intermittent “success” here; coming in at with a 50% average for the Mature cards I saw this week.)

My intervals are progressing nicely too, with that big spike sliding ever so slowly out from three days to four. At this rate, by the time “ShenaniTims Vs. Anki: Round 3,541” rolls around in December, that mass of cards will all be Mature!

Is ShenaniTims full of shit? Tell him now!

