ShenaniTims Vs. Anki: Round 7

As I mentioned in my last post, my offerings last week were slim due to me being on vacation. So while I did study my Anki decks everyday, adding new cards fell on the wayside because my friend and I tended to leave quite early in the mornings and return rather late at night. Such a schedule doesn’t leave much time for card creation.

The biggest trend I saw emerging was down (앞에) in the “Answer Buttons” graph, where you can see that my Mature cards now hold the highest percentage of correct answers at 78%. I can’t overstate what a huge confidence booster this is. What it means is that, no matter how long it takes for me to get a word into the Mature pile, no matter how many errors made along the way, once a card is there, it’s generally there to stay. Locked safely away in long term memory.

Though it seems counterintuitive, I believe my recent push towards using the “Hard” designation button more often will also assist in this regard. As it’ll make the harder cards show up more often (meaning – more practice), while also preventing them from sliding into the Mature pile before they’re actually meant to be there. I’d rather spend an extra week or two making sure I know a word 100% (or, in this case, 80%) rather than have it turn up a month later and have no clue on how to say it.

Accepting smaller initial returns at the start to prevent bigger letdowns later on. There’s nothing worse than seeing a word fresh after a month hiatus and not having a clue what it is anymore. All the while thinking, “But I knew what it was! It was so easy!”

Also, the Interval spike is picking up speed. It seemed to be hovering over the Day 6 mark for weeks, but now it has drifted right to Day 9.

 

Is ShenaniTims full of shit? Tell him now!

