ShenaniTims Vs. Anki: Round 16

A whole new set of teachers this week. Which can be intimidating. You get into routines/rhythm with your teacher(s) and then have to start re-establishing said rhythms over again. Which never turns out well.

My speaking ability was definitely subpar when I was starting out tonight, and quickly stopped being horrendous once I became comfortable. Which, to be fair, isn’t too far off from how my conversational skills operate in English either.

Everything started coming together once we made it past the basic introductions. I hate having to introduce myself. Everyone knows I’m a foreigner. Do I really need to acknowledge the obvious? As for what my favorite activity is, who cares? Is this really the stuff people talk about when they meet at mixers or socials or wherever it is people meet?

A big factor in this miasma of uneasiness/failure is that my introduction was given to me. While certainly needed (I could barely make out Korean sounds on my first week, let alone create sentences), I have no agency in those sentences. They’re about me, but they’re not mine.

(To underline this fact, while I wrote about roller derby for years, there was only a handful of times where I used photos from actual, legit photographers. I prefered to do everything myself, even if the final product was ultimately less than it could’ve been. It was still all mine.)

Once we hit upon me using the current chapters main focus: “I want to…;” my ability jumped off by leaps and bounds. I want to do this, I want to do that, I want to expand on that basic sentence structure with something (slightly) more substantial, etc., etc. I think that’s when the teacher saw that there’s an actual brain in this skull. It just operates at its own speed.

Another factor at play here was the not inconsiderable fact that this will be week three of me trying to learn these time prepositions. Frustration is starting to set in. So I’ve decided to break them down into smaller chunks, and (hopefully) learn one or two before adding on another one or two until they’re all locked away in my memory banks. Or I’m a number of chapters removed from this particular one so that I won’t even remember what it was I was continually forgetting.

I’ll be happy either way.

Is ShenaniTims full of shit? Tell him now!

