ShenaniTims Vs. Anki: Round 17

Class this week was the same as last week’s: a different teacher and an uneasy hour (this time) spent learning nothing. Last week started off uneasy, but we eventually found a groove and had laid the groundwork for future progress.

I didn’t even know where to start this week. I tried steering the “class” in a direction I was interested in. My book was being ignored, so I figured, “Hey, I’ll go grab my writing notebook! (I spent Saturday watching movies at the cinema, and was writing while waiting for the films to start.) Maybe the explanations I’ll receive will be more in-depth than those provided on Lang-8!”

No dice. The teacher had wanted me to create a sentence using the word “다” (all). I couldn’t think of one because a.) I don’t use the word “all” in English very often, and b.) I was feeling increasingly uncomfortable. This week’s teacher wouldn’t direct the class; such as “Now we’re going to work on this…” or, as in this case, “I’m going to say a word and I want you to use it in a sentence.” You know, some idea of what he wanted from me.

Instead he’d just say a Korean sentence over and over. If I repeated what he said, he’d keep saying it for minutes and then, after both of us had grown frustrated, would tell me to ask him said question. If I tried cutting into this routine by asking him early on, he’d seemingly get frustrated and tell me he didn’t want me to ask him, but answer him.

I’m certainly no professional scholar, but running your class on the idea of “Damned if you do, damned if you don’t” doesn’t work very well.

So I’ll open my book! And show him that I’ve learned what he’s talking about, I just couldn’t recall it because everything we’ve talked about has been random and scattershot!  The concept in question here was one I had covered back in better times: future tense; I want to (V고 싶어요).

Again no dice. Instead of staying in the future tense chapter, he decided to go back seven fucking chapters to the alphabet. And review the vocabulary there which had nothing to do with anything we had talked about up to that point.

At which point I think I pissed him off because I completely checked out. He’d ask me something and I’d be staring off into space wishing I hadn’t given up control of the book. Since, if it had still been in my possession, I could’ve just been sneaking glances at it and working towards something.

It’s utterly fucking depressing to be told every damn week, “Wow, your Korean isn’t good. Almost as if, I don’t know, you’ve just started learning a 2nd language! One completely different than the one you’re fluent in! Huh, maybe that’s why you’re in a (supposed) Korean class?”

forecastreviewcountreviewtimeintervalsaddedanswerbuttonscardtypes

Is ShenaniTims full of shit? Tell him now!

