ShenaniTims Vs. Anki: Round 25

There was no class last night, officially no class. This is acceptable though, as none was expected. We had our class Christmas/holiday party, so it was more about celebrating and not so much about studying. Which is fine, because earlier this week I found the newest latest love of my life: my Basic (Korean) Grammar Book.

Now I’ve owned this book for awhile now, and besides occasionally cracking it open, never really dove into it. I figured I would pay more attention to it later, after I finished my current Korean book. What a fool I’ve been.

On the off-chance that I had looked into it, I mainly stuck to grammatical concepts I already knew. Using the book (and its quizzes/questions) to practice using the past tense, would/could, etc. Things I knew but might not be using enough, or just things I felt I needed more (official) practice with.

So while looking up Would/Could/Will (V겠어요/V겠습니다) I happened to look at the previous chapter: Going to. New concept = more fun! So “going to V” in Korean is: A/V(으)ㄹ 거예요. Short and super easy to use (no sliding letters like the related V겠어요/V겠습니다). So that was my big win this week.

This and the realization (while listening to Hyuna’s fantastic A’wesome EP that I can pick out maybe 4-5% of the Korean words she’s singing. Which, while it doesn’t seem like much when you write it out numerically, means a lot more in action. It’s a start, an understanding, a (baby (아기)) step in the right direction.

anki-stats-2016-12-0509-57-25

On the Anki front, nothing really new to report. My accuracy scores are still trending downward, which might correspond to my spending less time studying said words. I used to crack my vocab. book while waiting for the traffic lights on my morning bike ride, but as I’m holed up in recovery (bronchitis), I should be studying more. I could be studying more. But I’m not.

My old routine: class/homework/study/check-up isn’t available as a structure anymore, so I’m currently looking for a new routine that’ll handle that criteria.

Is ShenaniTims full of shit? Tell him now!

