ShenaniTims Vs. Anki: Round 28

What a change two weeks can make. While I still struggled with some of the vocabulary questions asked of me this week, working with my teacher (the same young one from the last, pre-vacation class) went immensely better.

Realizing that he didn’t get me and my learning style (i.e. extremely quiet, lots of bothersome grammatical questions), I went the other way: actually being social. Asking him questions about his school, his hobbies, all that (what I consider) banal shit. And it worked. Worked wonders. He had a good time, and I was able to maneuver the class into the areas I wanted to go.

This week was largely based around me playing with the grammatical concepts we briefly covered last week. Largely using “or” in Korean (N(이)나 N). I wanted to dive deeper into this; both to get more experience with the idea while stretching my vocabulary as far as it’ll go. (Sadly, still not as far as I’d like.)

anki-stats-2017-01-0209-34-08

As far as the Anki front goes, I didn’t add any new words while I was on vacation, but that worked out fine because I also found out that dumping 100+ new words into my deck in a span of four days is mental suicide. You’re just asking for problems with recall at that point; especially when most of the words are similar (exhibit, exhibition, (modern) concert, classical concert, etc.), and many of the terms share syllables. (“연” and “회”show up numerous times: 전시회 (exhibit) and 음악회 (classical concert) or 연극, 공연, and 연금 (a play, a performance, and a pension respectively.)

Not a cool move on my part two weeks ago. One that I was paying for over until around now-ish; as I’ve finally been able to recall some of them correctly. (Sadly, some of the words listed above were found and/or spelt correctly using my travel dictionary.)

Speaking of which (spelling), I really wish Anki had a special spelling feature, as I really need it. It seems like half of my teacher’s time is spent correcting my spelling; which probably wouldn’t be so bad if I wasn’t so proud of my spelling in English.

But I guess we all had to start somewhere, and I really doubt I was a spelling champ right from the start…

Is ShenaniTims full of shit? Tell him now!

