ShenaniTims Vs. Anki: Round 35

What to say? Besides some things changed as of three days ago. So I had been clearing out all the review words everyday, spending on average 60 minutes with Korean vs. ~20. And I felt pretty good about it.

And then last weekend happened. Super busy, and I honestly didn’t have the time or energy to finish off all the words. I still did my daily allotment of 100 (plus any new ones), but no additional. And honestly, nothing seems to have changed.

Take last night for instance. I ended up with around 100+ cards leftover once I completed my daily load. Woke up this morning, and there’s still 100+ cards leftover rather than 200+ (as I feared). So my theory is that by taxing my mind to do 200+ cards daily, I was missing more than I normally would have. A missed card’s counter gets reset to 0; meaning it’ll show up in the next day’s allotment. Meaning that by trying so hard to get everything done quickly, I was ultimately making more work for myself.

I think that now that my nearly month long run of 20 new cards a day is over, those cards have been filtered into the normal Interval schedule. (Some show up sooner, some show up later, and some are (still) showing up nearly daily.) Which means if I can keep my wits about me, and break this (now) two day schedule of 100+ cards, I’ll then be able to wittle down those pesky remainders.

That’s the hope at least.

anki-stats-2017-02-2010-29-07

Is ShenaniTims full of shit? Tell him now!

