ShenaniTims Vs. Anki: Round 43

DSC03528

A test, a test! I took a Korean test! And I lived to tell the tale…

This week’s class kicked off with a line I always dread hearing: “Tim, I have something to ask you. Come over here.” This alone causes an instinctual level of dread to arise. I mean, I was asked this by the lady who invites me to service every week (which I decline). Had my non-church-going ways finally caught up with me?

Tim, we’ve noticed that you never come to church, and you’ve told many of us that you don’t believe. Yet every week you’re here using our free services. What’s up?” was running through my mind as the only possible outcome. Luckily, it was instead the seemingly benign, “Would you mind if you had a different teacher this week?”

DSC03512

Turns out word of my (alleged) Korean ability has spread even to the bigger movers and shakers at the church, so now one of the top ones wanted to see for herself.

It turns out I’m smarter than an acorn.

Actually, it turns out my daily use of Anki for almost a year now has paid off generously. The general agreement was that my vocabulary is great: quite expansive for someone who started studying a year ago. My spoken Korean is thus where all the work needs to go.

Unfortunately this turned into doing reading drills. I’d read a sentence in Korean, translate it, then answer it in triplicate. Once using the present tense, once in the past tense, and finally in the future tense. Though this really wasn’t as bad as I’ve made it out to be, since, me being me, my answers did their best to expand upon the questions.

DSC03533

I mean, what’s the use of being complimented on your vocabulary if you’re not going to use it?

Picking up on their lead, my teacher on Sunday kept pushing in this direction by having semi-conversations with me. Asking me questions that I could understand, so that I could create answers for them. Which doesn’t sound like much when I write it down, but, in the moment, it’s everything. Considering a little more than a year ago I was sounding out the alphabet and memorizing introductory sentences (“네 이름은 팀 입니다”) and now I can construct those sentences off the top of my head is crazy.

anki-stats-2017-04-27@10-13-36

On an Anki-based aside, I’ve stopped doing my quizzes in the morning. I started to fear that my still groggy brain might be hindering the learning process. So instead I take it during the downtime I have after completing my classes’ lesson plans. And continue during the (mini) breaks I get between classes (~5 minutes).

Is ShenaniTims full of shit? Tell him now!

