ShenaniTims Vs. Anki: Round 44

One week, and two levels of advancement! That’s right, I was using the church’s level four book this week. BAM, just like that! Turns out I’m somewhat good!

Or not. The real reason behind the just was last week’s teacher was unable to sit with me (she plays a big role in keeping the whole class moving), so I was paired up with another, level four, student. He offered to work through the level two book for me, but I love a challenge. Also, we flipped through both books, and they’re not that different. Mainly, the higher level one uses more advanced conjugations, and my fellow scholar was super helpful with asking me, “Do you know ‘xxx’ form?”

DSC03954

And I picked up some worthwhile conversational tidbits:

~것 같다 – used for giving a polite opinion (“Well, I think/feel…”). This one is invaluable since 같다 has been in My Anki deck for ages, but I’ve yet to see it used correctly. Now I know!

~…부터 – this is used to express “from…” Such as 지금부터 (“from now on…”), and I’m assuming 화요일부터 (“since Tuesday…”). Though I’ve yet to test this theory yet, as I’ve just thought of it.

~하기 로 했어요 – used for talking about plans, and/or things decided in advance.

~ I also learned the true, sad tale behind 식사 (“meal”). Now 식사 has been in my vocabulary awhile, but I’ve never seen it used. Rather 음식 or 밥 get used. So it turns out 식사 is the word used when talking about the action of “having a meal.” Which seems rather limited in use, causing me to wonder why I learned it so early on.

Which means while I didn’t get to have fun composing my own sentences, I was clued in on some useful verb sequences. Which, in turn, will pay off later with my sentence creation. Also, my vocabulary and that of my fellow student were remarkably similar. What advantage I had over him in terms of vocabulary was more than made up for (on his end), by his fluency. I think it worked out well for everyone involved, as we both had time to shine. Him, with teaching me some new conjugations, and me dominating our dicussions on colors, numbers, body parts, and family members. (Korean has two different words for “aunt.” One for maternal (이모), and one for paternal (고모).)

This also marked the second week where I’ve taught one of my Korean teachers a, wait for this, KOREAN WORD! Seriously, I can’t tell you how cool it is to teach a Korean a part of their own language. (This week it was “수장,” a stripe. NOT the normal, striped shirt kind of stripe though. More of a “I have a stripe on my back because my mom beat me with a switch” kind of stripe. Which led us to learn what the verb for “physically beating someone” is (Verb). Have I mentioned how much I dig these classes lately?

anki-stats-2017-05-02@07-05-38

As can be seen (as I took an image of my Anki results way too late), new vocabulary was the order of the day this week. A more advanced book = more advanced vocabulary. I’m not complaining, though I am trying to figure out the “perfect spot” as far as numbers go. 20 new words a day seems to overload me, and I don’t feel I can properly learn them. But one or two words a day isn’t enough, as I feel I’m leaving money on the table.

The struggle continues…

Is ShenaniTims full of shit? Tell him now!

