ShenaniTims Vs. Anki: Round 53

Yowza. What a week.

So last week, at the end of my Sunday Korean class, my teacher, a pastor, asked me if I wanted to go to his church next week. For reasons only known to the Gods, after saying “No” 50,000 times, I was like what the hell? “Sure.”

“Really?”

“Yeah, I’ll go next week.” I figured it would be an interesting experience to say the least. I’d also get to spend upwards of two hours being totally immersed in Korean, and get to meet some more Koreans. What could go wrong?

We’ll put that on the backburner right now, as it’s just one piece into this weekend’s comedy of errors.

So then, on Friday, I arrive at work and my boss follows me into my classroom. This is never a good sign. Christ, what did I mess up this time? Dear Lord, now she’s pulling up a chair to my desk and telling me to have a seat. FUCK. Now she’s telling me not to worry, BUT I’M BEING INSTRUCTED TO SIT DOWN!

It turns out my boss was correct, I was overreacting. It seems that the new teacher is also super interested in learning Korean (he went to my Sunday class with me his first week here), she knows I’ve been studying awhile, and she’s interested in continuing her English mastery. Which is tough, since she’s living in Korea. So she offered this solution: we come in an hour early twice a week, and study with her. She bought a vocabulary book for us to study from (“Do you have a Korean book?, she (foolishly) asked. “I have 60 Korean books,” I laughed as I pulled the Korean textbook I had brought with me that day). So I’m officially in four Korean classes a week!

Which sounds awesome, but it raises the stakes considerably. I mean, if my ability keeps growing at the crawl its currently imitating, I’m gonna feel bad for wasting these resources.

That was Friday. Which brings us to Saturday’s class. First problem, my study partner Edwin was absent. (He’s a student working on his Master’s, and he had a seminar to attend or something.) Leaving me and the teacher alone. The reason this is a problem is because Edwin’s better at Korean than I am, so he acts as my interpreter. My teacher talks fast, and uses long sentences. Either of which, by themself, can make class a challenge. But both together? Practically impossible.

So class was just a blur of her talking too talk and me trying to keep up. A two-hour long, frustrating blur. And then it ends, and dinner starts. At which point, I’m excited, cuz when the books are away the budding Korean student will play! So I tell my teacher that I’m excited because I’ll be having four Korean classes next week.

“You have another class?”

“Yeah, I have one on Sunday. I go every week.”

“Where did you find it?”

“On Facebook.”

And that’s where our conversation took a turn for the worse. How do you know these people? Do you know if you can trust them? They might be STRANGE

“I’ve been going to these classes for the past year. I know those teachers better than I know you.”

Then she found out that I’d be going to a different church on Sunday. Cue a thousand more questions all hinged on the same presumption that everyone else in the world is STRANGE. I try to reassure her, but there’s a language barrier. Which is when she enlists the class’ director for help. Who, naturally, is also shocked that I’m not going to their church but I’m going to someone else’s.

I tried to explain that I’ve known 김목사님 longer, so by all rights I should attend his church first. But we have English service! How do I politely explain that I actually like that the church I’m going to is in Korean, that way I can focus on the language and ignore the actual teaching; which I’d probably disagree with anyway. Also, and most importantly, 김목사님 knows I don’t believe in God, but he still wants me to go. Whereas that church is so large I’m not sure they’ve all heard that I’m not a believer. (In fact, given yesterday’s SNAFU, I’m almost positive word hasn’t spread yet.)

Meaning next week’s class should be exciting. Maybe I’ll offer to go to one of their services too, but with the stipulation that I’ll only attend a Korean service. I’ll tell them the partial truth that I’m doing it to practice my comprehension, and leave out the part about me not being able to understand it is also a big bonus in the eyes of this sinner.

anki-stats-2017-07-03@10-34-54

A big week for Anki. I continued to add vocabulary throughout the week, making it one of my most productive weeks vocabulary-wise in awhile if not all time. The 10 new words a day restriction seems to be working wonders.

Is ShenaniTims full of shit? Tell him now!

