ShenaniTims Vs. Anki: Round 53

So I’ve ended up going to church two weeks in a row. I’m still not sure about how I feel about it. While I didn’t mind the ceremonies (too much), I’m afraid there might soon be an expectation of me showing up. Which isn’t going to happen.

The impetus behind this week’s visit was my being tricked into agreeing to come last week. While the pastor’s wife was warning me about the dangers of STRANGE churches, she asked why I had never attended her church. Since I had already admitted that I would be going to church, I couldn’t exactly say “I don’t go to church” anymore. That would be a slight. So I agreed I would come to their church once.

Unfortunately for me, she took that to mean I’d come the next week. It wasn’t in my plans, but a pinky swear is a pinky swear. That, and I’m getting over two hours of Korean instruction at the church every week.

Keeping with last week’s church adventure, I again decided to ignore the pastor’s wife’s instruction to attend the English service, and instead opted to sit in on the Korean service. And what a difference it was. First, the church looks like an airplane hanger. But there was a full band: choir singers, violin players, you name it, they had it somewhere on the stage. Additionally, the (church’s) head pastor preaches like one of those television preachers. Getting angry, shouting, being totally into preaching. Which would’ve been annoying in English, but in Korean I can barely pick the words making it much more bareable.

As for Saturday’s actual class, it went a lot smoother than last week’s. While my study partner was still absent, my teacher and I no longer had to feel each other out to figure out what works best. I showed her some of my Korean writing from the week, spoke to her in Korean about various odds-and-ends, and then moved onto the book. This week was a lot less of stepping on each other’s toes, and a lot more working together.

And what a week in Anki news. I’ve been adding words pretty consistently all week, and while things are becoming harder, I haven’t hit a tipping point yet. (Hopefully reducing my New Word load from 20 to 10 new cards a day had something to do with this.) As the graphs below illustrate, this month was well on par to become the 2nd most (new) vocabulary focused month I’ve had. (It was in 3rd place when this screenshot was made Sunday, but after last night it moved into 2nd. Having two vocabulary focused classes per week with my boss teaching will be greatly expanding my word-base.)

anki-stats-2017-07-09@09-09-17

Is ShenaniTims full of shit? Tell him now!

